How To Celebrate Independence Day

July 1, 2007 at 3:47 pm 2 comments

Skyflower

Isn’t it neat how fireworks look like flowers when they burst in the sky? The variety of colors reminds me of the blooming plants in my urban garden, opening up for the bees to give them some love.

These days to me it seems smarter to celebrate the arrival of tomatoes and snap peas than it does to embrace a flag. After all… what good is celebrating Independence Day if we aren’t independent? I certainly don’t see our tax dollars being spent to protect America by investing in immediate nation-wide preparations for Peak Oil, do you?

I would think that includes teaching kids at school how to specialize in certain food plants that can be grown at home – then having them teach one another what they learned. Kind of a no-brainer, huh? Or perhaps our national leadership could address the nation, admit we are running out of oil, that we can’t continue our wasteful way of living, and encourage Americans to meet their neighbors to talk about the game plan for powering down and managing with less stuff.

I’m no longer some lone guy talking about this likely scenario – the world’s experts have chimed in and unless you are ignorant, deep down you know it’s coming. It’s a very scary movie we are all characters in, and not many people can get by without their local supermarket, their microwave, and wide array of energy powered gadgets.

Newsflash: Something’s gonna break soon, and the more we run out of energy and water, the more likely big fights are going to break out among nations or even local neighbors. That’s kind of scary, isn’t it? Don’t you think that Americans should prepare for that threat instead of pretending everything will work itself out on it’s own? I believe there is a critical mass of smart people in this country… I hope I’m not wrong.

The smart people in all likelihood are starting to assess their yard, beginning to plant food gardens, and are starting to live AS IF they didn’t have access to the nice things they have now like electricity, gasoline, full supermarket shelves or the Internet.

Yes, the best way to celebrate your independence is to learn to be just that… independent. You can start by waking up and preparing for your new future making due with with much less stuff than you are used to getting by with.

I’m not trying to get all righteous here, just spouting what seems to be common sense. I’m turning off the oven burner before I’m done cooking and using residual heat to keep on cooking without power. I am unplugging devices not being used – and am learning just how much energy things like microwave ovens and laptops use (holy moly they suck up power!).

As you can guess… I’m also busy in my garden planting seeds in composted soil and weeding the pesky invasive plants trying to crowd out the ones that help feed us (if you start by planting garlic and onions, you can make just about anything taste good!)

All in all, I’m proud to be an American and I believe in the power of community. Right now, too many people are distracted by crap TV shows and too many people will be scared if something goes down that shuts down transportation, food distribution, or power systems.

If we don’t start preparing for that future right now, people could soon end up trading recipes for how to grill up their pets on the 4th of July… and no one wants to fry up their own dog or cat. At least I don’t.

Happy 4th of July everyone.

Entry filed under: Activism, Consumerism, Dinner Parties, Gardening, How To, Personal Preparation, Solutions. Tags: .

Meeting Your Neighbors Is Easy When Peak Oil Rips At Your Soul

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kickaha  |  July 1, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    This isn’t exactly a new topic to me, but I’m still surprised at times at how bad things have gotten. I long ago discovered that the spinach grown in my backyard has a sweet almost buttery flavor. Now that I’ve been shopping the local farmers’ market quite a bit this summer, I have rediscovered eggs.

    For about the same price as store-bought “eggs”, I’ve been able to buy the most wonderful unfertilized chicken ova that I’ve ever tasted. The yolks are dark and firm and have flavor.

    If enough people realize soon enough that we’ve all been eating CRAP, maybe we won’t have to start trading recipes for “katzenpfeffer.”

    Reply
  • 2. M.Squirrel  |  July 2, 2007 at 3:04 am

    Crap is exactly the reason why we started gardening in our backyard, and Peak Oil is the reason why our garden keeps expanding year after year. Coming from a family that had homesteaders on one side, victory gardeners on the other, and a mother that’s actually written cook books, I’ve always known what real food tastes like, and thus it was very easy for me to reject crap.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Tweets

Lawns to Gardens / Bright Neighbor events

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

