To All The Geeks, Gamers, And Non-Attention Payers

May 16, 2007 at 11:58 am 11 comments

Nintendo Geek

Yo kids.

I doubt you will ever read this warning because you are either too wrapped up in Warcraft, Halo, or some other shoot ’em up game with ultra-realistic bloody graphics to care. I mean, don’t get me wrong… I’m super stoked about the new Transformers movie that’s coming out as well (which may teach you about Energy, since that’s what the robots are fighting over).

Transformers Energy Peak Oil

The fact is – you are woefully unprepared for the very real and bloody video game coming your way, which includes more guts and gore than you can ever imagine. Man, how cool will it be when you get to not only feast your eyes on the very real world scenario of people shooting one another in the streets – but that you might actually get to truly fight for your life? Wow. How rad that will be.

You see kids – while you are busy playing online games and watching movies (yes, I watch movies too), there is a really messed up situation in the world you need to pay attention to right now. Your very REAL life (the one you don’t get to start over) now depends on you paying attention to what I’m about to tell you, so listen up.

1) Your video game units are powered by energy
2) The world is about to explode in a big firefight over the earth’s remaining energy (it could even be nuclear war)
3) Re-read the intro paragraph

That’s right kids, the time is nearly here! You will be most likely be able to open up your window or stand on your front lawn and watch chaos go down, just like you see in the movies. It will be pretty scary to you when the power goes out, and your video games or Internet connection no longer work.

When lines start forming at gas stations and grocery stores start running out of food because prices have risen too high, you won’t know what to do. That’s ok… I’m not trying to finger wag – it’s all our fault. You are growing up in an energy intensive world with lots of people in it. Humans became too dependent on energy sources that power our cars, food system, electricity and everything that allows us to live the way we do, and now it’s just about run out.

What’s going to happen is that war will only continue to get worse around the world as the fight for energy increases. You won’t be able to ignore this as food becomes more expensive, gas stations run out of fuel, and things break all over the place.

Again, don’t freak out too much, there are those of us who have known this was coming and it must be quite a shock to you. The faster you get over the shock, the faster you should be able to see this as the opportunity you have been waiting for. You DO want to be a hero, I assume, after all that gaming and all those movies you watch, right?

This is your chance to be Superman or Wonder Woman – Obi Wan or Luke Skywalker – Optimus Prime or some other super hero. Be whoever you choose… but I ask you to fight for the force of good – which means recognizing that everyone is pretty much in the same boat as you and it’s time to help everyone else, which means that people will be willing to help you back.

So what are things you can do?

I’ll make it easy for you. First, watch this quick video I made for you. It will help you understand some of the basics of what’s called “Peak Oil”. Once you start to grasp the concept that the world you think will go on forever is just about to come to an end, only at that point will you start to see the new world we will be forced to live in.

I will keep making videos to help you learn what you can do. But you must first start by putting down the games for a while and learn to start growing food at home. It’s the magic power that could help save your life so you make it to the second level.

Entry filed under: future, Heroes.

Ron Paul – A True American My First Frankenpost

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. baloghblog  |  May 16, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    loved it. Submitted to Reddit, and Stumbled-upon. Hope it sends some traffic your way…

    Reply
  • 2. Shad0w  |  May 16, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    All i can think of right now is Fallout.

    Reply
  • 3. peakoilboy  |  May 16, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    Thanks! I appreciate any help getting the word out.

    Reply
  • 4. billiam  |  May 21, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Nice vid. I posted it on my dusty old blog. Thanks. I’ve been meaning to investigate your site further for a while. For me, The Long Emergency by James Howard Kunstler really was the eye opener I needed.

    Reply
  • 5. Malva  |  May 22, 2007 at 4:05 am

    You fell right in for the “stereotypical gamer” image. 🙂

    With alot of late 20s and 30-something people having grown up playing video games instead of watching TV, they don’t suddenly drop the keyboard and pick up the remote when they become “adult” enough.

    I play WoW (a fair amount) and I’m peak oil aware. I’m also growing vegetables and mastering old skills (I knit and spin yarn for example). I cook from scratch, bake bread and preserve local food in season. I compost. I cycle or walk everywhere.

    The network of WoW players I play with is mostly made of professionals (with a few token teenagers), mainly scientists, engineers and teachers it seems. There seems to be a stigma attached to being a gamer, even worse if you’re female, and most of us don’t talk about our gaming hobby/habit with colleages and friends. Like peak oil awareness, selling your car by choice, or not buying anything new because you’re trying to reduce your dependance on oil, gaming is just too weird to most people.

    BTW, I love your videos. At first glance, you seem like an unlikely source of peak oil information, that’s what I like. I referred your videos to Rob Hopkins (of Transition Town Totnes) when he was looking for ways to reach out to the younger crowd. I hope it got you some traffic.

    Reply
  • 6. ghost  |  May 26, 2007 at 7:23 am

    The post is too sarcasticaly condescending to get any message out

    “but that you might actually get to truly fight for your life? Wow. How rad that will be.”

    ” I mean, don’t get me wrong… I’m super stoked about the new Transformers movie that’s coming out as well (which may teach you about Energy, since that’s what the robots are fighting over).”

    PS Kids dont say rad anymore, dig?

    Reply
  • 7. peakoilboy  |  May 26, 2007 at 11:36 am

    Perhaps you don’t realize the intent of this post is to wake kids up to start preparing for the danger that is right before them.

    Perhaps you didn’t understand the latter part of the post when I ask them to find it in themselves to not fight among each other when it hits, rather work together for the greater good.

    Or perhaps you don’t like my writing style, no matter what the kids are saying. And yes, by kids I mean anyone… my neighbor is 80 and she’s a kid.

    I don’t believe she says rad though.

    Reply
  • 8. Bill  |  December 12, 2007 at 6:03 am

    you start “yo kids I doubt you will ever read this warning because you are either too wrapped up in Warcraft, Halo, or some other shoot ‘em up game with ultra-realistic bloody graphics to care. I mean, don’t get me wrong…”

    when actually the average gamer is 33 years old…

    don’t believe me?

    http://www.theesa.com/facts/top_10_facts.php

    Reply
  • 9. peakoilboy  |  December 12, 2007 at 6:24 am

    Bill,

    You have to appreciate when I mean kids, I mean anyone from 10 – 50 years old.

    Such nuances.

    Reply
  • 10. A Grand Theft Of Intelligence « Lawns to Gardens  |  May 7, 2008 at 11:16 am

    […] wrote a satirical post (To All The Geeks, Gamers, and Non-Attention Payers) about kids having to get ready to eat one another as human society collapses. I’m not sure […]

    Reply
  • […] And of Americans finding their inner superhero. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Lawns to Gardens / Bright Neighbor events

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

