Consumerism Is Dead – Long Live Self-Sufficiency!

June 6, 2007 at 9:22 am 3 comments

Money is not real

This one is kind of a no brainer.

Money keeps people and institutions in power. When most money is based on oil and energy (as it is now), it has value that lets you buy things like food and private corporate jets. When oil runs out like it is doing right now, that money loses value, and that money becomes worthless.

I am surprised to see how many people understand this already. I went to a rock show the other night and this topic was buzzing off many people’s tongues, and I didn’t even instigate the conversation! So it seems to me what we are seeing right now is a wide recognition of money losing it’s grip on power, and money is *NOT* happy about it at all.

What all this essentially means is that the rulers of the world, in every country, are trying to figure out how to deal with us little people. After all, when money crashes, there will be a lot of angry, hungry people. Sure, they can kill us, but there are so many people on the planet who have tasted wealth, it will be a bloody mess.

That’s why in an “ownership” society, it comes down to what “stuff” people claim rights to. If the ultra-rich have 13 homes all over the world, I say let them keep them. If you have a house and owe a $200,000 mortgage, hey, you just scored a great house and get to keep it!

See what I mean? If everyone gets to keep what they have at the moment, then the fear of losing “stuff” will allow us to work out this energy crash thing without killing off so many people. After all, many people need a “mission” to give them purpose in life – and our collective mission would be to maintain the ability to feed, clothe, and transport ourselves. Let me assure you, there is LOTS of work to do to make that happen – it is a heroic mission that everyone can embark upon together. Consumerism is dead – long live self sufficiency!

But self sufficiency takes hard work. If the leaders of the world that are so fearful of us “little people” would realize that we are willing to still work, so long as we get time off to spend with family and such, then labor will continue.

I LOVE farming my little yard. I wish I could steal away from the chains at my desk to go work in the dirt. I would gladly hop on a bus with other laid off workers and ship out to a farm and help grow the food we need, since fertilizer and other oil-based inputs are going to run out and be too expensive for farmers to keep using.

I would like to think that the wealthy people of the world can still keep their “Stuff”, but that we would read stories about Paris Hilton working side by side with regular folk now and then. Or the CEO of Coca-Cola working two days a week on a farm… if they would just show some backbone the elite and the common folk could work it out.

But I’m just a dreamer. I highly doubt that families with blue blood and so many generations of wealthy living will go down without killing off us folks that don’t matter. We’re fungible, nothing more than fuel for corporate machinery. I guess I accept that and realize that I have no power.

That’s why I’ll just keep on farming my little plot of land and watch it all go down. Food grown at home tastes better anyway.

Entry filed under: Consumerism, Corporations, Die Off, Economic Collapse, Ethanol, future, Happy News, Living in Hell, Materialism, Nuclear War, Peak Oil, politicians, Profits, Uncategorized.

Dear America, The Lawns to Gardens *Quick* Peak Oil Soft Landing Program

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. M.Squirrel  |  June 7, 2007 at 3:46 am

    I like your snarky attitude! Could I work with Paris Hilton? I doubt it. I’ve worked with stupid people before, and I much prefer working with Mother Nature and all her fury.

    Reply
  • 2. erica  |  June 7, 2007 at 10:59 am

    I wish I could spend all my time on the garden too… and I also love the attitude, it makes you a real person and not someone just spouting statistics.

    Reply
  • 3. Consumerism dead | Jamesandjennif  |  July 13, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    […] Consumerism Is Dead – Long Live Self-Sufficiency! « Lawns to …Jun 6, 2007 … Consumerism is dead – long live self sufficiency! But self sufficiency takes hard work. If the leaders of the world that are so fearful of us “little … […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Tweets

Lawns to Gardens / Bright Neighbor events

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

