Meeting Your Neighbors Is Easy

June 22, 2007 at 4:10 pm 1 comment

Block party

Something amazing happened last night.

First, I attended a massive feast of food prepared by the Blossoming Lotus, and it was one of the best meals of my life. All plant based food delivering eye-rolling toungue dances while completely filling the belly. Here is the menu of what was served:

• Ginger infused Carrot Lavender Soup
• Macadamia Nut Crusted Tempeh with Pesto Sauce and heavenly avacado beet salad
• Saffron Herb Basmati Rice Pilaf
• Chocolate Toasted Coconut No Bake Cookies

I will blog about plant based diets later. Right now I want to tell you about meeting neighbors.

As I headed home from the food event, I rolled into my neighborhood, which was partially closed. The neighbors from a couple blocks over had closed the street to throw themselves a “Get to know your neighbor” Block Party! I couldn’t resist crashing it.

Instead of beer and chips, I grabbed two trays of vegetable starts I had sprouted and headed over to the mini-crowd. Introducing myself as their semi-neighbor, I offered them a selection of vegetable starts to take home and plant, including Broccoli, Beans, Beats, Cauliflower, Zucchini, Spinach, Collard Greens, Carrots, Snow Peas, and Onions.

They immediately welcomed me to the party and thrust a beer in my hand! Not only did I meet over 15 neighbors, but I was able to talk about Peak Oil and the reason I’m gardening so much. I explained to everyone why I’m so avid about growing food at home, and they all agreed that we as neighbors need to start coming out of our “Boxes” more, and become more self sufficient.

The amazing part?

People are friendly once you get them out of their homes, away from their TVs, and talking amongst one another. One of them told me to come with him, and showed me his massive drip feed system for his tomatoes and lettuces, as well as pictures of the solar two-seat vehicle he built by hand (it’s in California at the moment).

So here’s to crashing neighborhood block parties. And if you’ve never been to one, I sure hope you’ll take the initiative to be the spark in your neighborhood and organize a block party with your neighbors. Give them your name, e-mail and phone – and be the coordinator!

Shut the street down, break out the grill, turn on the music and bring name tags! Here are great tips for how to organize a block party to meet neighbors. And make sure to make a neighborhood map so you can write down the names and contact info of new friends you just met.

When it comes down to it, the living strategy of local planning and relying on friends and neighbors will be a key to ensuring local livability.

Entry filed under: Around Portland, Community Building, Dinner Parties, future, Gardening, Happy News, How To, Personal Preparation. Tags: , , , , , .

Republicans Block Efforts To Stop America From Driving Off A Cliff How To Celebrate Independence Day

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. peakoilboy  |  March 3, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    PS – Get ready for Bright Neighbor!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Tweets

Lawns to Gardens / Bright Neighbor events

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

