The Human Weapon – Self Defense Skills For An Unpredictable World

August 1, 2007 at 12:18 pm 4 comments

Guru Kurtis

I’m always trying to help my friends, and my artist buddy just showed me this new series on martial arts called “The Human Weapon“.

In the show, some dudes travel all around into deep jungles where you can witness badass locals wrestling things like water buffalo to practice their Neo-from-the-Matrix moves, stick fighting that can kill you, and high intensity warrior training. I e-mailed my other buddy Guru Kurtis about the show since I know he’s about to become a Grand-Poobah in the Phillippines. Well… Guru Kurtis responded to my e-mail and this is what he wrote about the show:

“When they were in the Philippines they were training in my teachers family. I am a Doce Pares black belt, at the end of August I am testing with Dionio’s older brother Cacoy for my 4 degree black belt. My style of kickboxing is much like the kickboxing the guys had to travel into the jungle to get, it is the old ways. They are doing a really good job showcasing these arts given what they have to work with and time constraints

I have my Kuntao teacher coming in for my summercamp the 10th through 12th of this month. I hope you feel the urge to come by and meet the real deal as his kind are old and dying off. This will be his last time in the Northwest. Here are the details:

Ancient Fighting Arts, Modern Self Defense: World Renowned Martial Artists Featured at Portland Seminar

Portland, Oregon, June 25, 2007 – Bapak Willem De Thouars, founder of Kun Tao Silat in the United States, and Master Janet Gee, 7th Degree Black Belt in Choy Li Fut Kung Fu, will share their knowledge with the public at this year’s Summer Camp seminar sponsored by A.P.I. International Combat Arts Association. The seminar will take place August 10th through 12th at API’s NE Portland studio and features these two prominent and respected martial artists and their host, Guru Kurtis Goodwin. Guru Goodwin is an advanced teacher and practitioner of Kun Tao Silat, Modern Arnis, Lao Kickboxing and Tibetan Nine Headed Snake Fist Kung Fu, and is a member of the Martial Arts Hall of Fame. Registration is open to the public.

About the Martial Artists

A living legend, Bapak Willem de Thouars is the third eldest brother of the de Thouars martial arts dynasty, a family of French and Dutch nobility and Indonesian tribal royalty. He spent his early years on the island of Java and traveled the world in the merchant marines before emigrating to the United States in the 1960s, when he began teaching his branch of the family art, Kun Tao Silat de Thouars. Willem’s style is distinctive in its richness. He practices over a dozen forms of his own art’s lineage, and counts among his own influences western boxing and fencing, and he developed some of his training methods from Charles Atlas. From all of these sources, he has distilled an art of effortless beauty and brutal effectiveness. Now in his 70s, “Uncle Bill”, as he is called by his students, will be retiring in 2008 from active martial arts instruction. This will be his last seminar in the northwest.

Sifu Janet Gee is a consummate martial artist and women’s advocate in the Bay Area. She not only holds a 7th degree black belt in Choy Li Fut Kung Fu, but also has studied extensively for over thirty years in the disciplines of Tai Chi Chuan, Aikido, Tae Kwon Do, Jujitsu, Kempo Karate, Indonesian Martial Arts and Judo, and she is a member of the Martial Arts Hall of Fame. She is a certified Alexander Technique instructor, yoga instructor, massage therapist and rape crisis counselor, and an adjunct faculty member at City College of San Francisco and San Francisco State University, where she teaches women’s studies and self defense. Sifu Gee is a brilliant martial artist who combines these approaches in her instruction to teach profound healing and empowerment.

Guru Kurtis Goodwin is the founder of A.P.I. International Combat Arts Association, and is an advanced practitioner and teacher of over nineteen styles of martial arts. He has hosted this annual Summer Camp seminar for sixteen years in Portland, Oregon.

Contact and Registration

This event is open to the public. More information and registration are available through A.P.I. International Combat Arts Association, on the web here or by phone at (503) 287-4265. Event will take place August 10 through August 12, 1007 at A.P.I. International Combat Arts Association, 5347 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, Oregon, 97213.

Entry filed under: Around Portland. Tags: .

PERMACULTURE & PEAK OIL: Beyond ‘Sustainability’ (Video) My Name Is Randy, and I support Al Franken

4 Comments Add your own

  • [...] Get the entire post from here. [...]

    Reply
  • 2. Edgar Fernandez  |  May 2, 2008 at 7:50 am

    Hi my name is Edgar Fernandez, president and Head Instructor for Self Defense Tactics, balck belt 1st dan degree judo and black belt 1st dan degree jiu jitsu (goshin ryu) in our training center we offer self defense courses for women, kids, law enforcement and private security officers.

    How can we be part of your world association, what do we need, or what do you need from us, please let us know and we have our doors open to any kind of help we can offer.

    Reply
  • 3. amir  |  July 2, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    My Dear Friend, Mr. Schmidt,

    I thank you for your reply. I have been recently appointed as the president of Self-Defense and Personal Arts of Iran. I am trying to contact with as many as self-defense associations in the world as possible because I aim at updating the science and sport of self-defense in Iran and equip my people with the skills of self-defense.

    When I first studied your website, I got very interested to contact you because I found out that you have some higher goals. Helping disabled people is so important. Many of us who are healthy have really forgotten them.

    Here I have written my short martial profile. I hop you will admit me as your representative in Iran:

    From childhood, I started martial arts with my older brother, Dr. Mohsen Ahmadi (who is now the Chancellor of FIMA University). My first style was Kung Fu. Later on, I also got acquainted with other styles such as kickboxing, karate, muay tai, and jujitsu. I even got my forth dan in kickboxing. In 2003, I won 2 gold medals in Azerbaijan Championship. Before that I was also a national champion. I have trained many national and international champions too. I am also an official national referee and coach of Wushu and Martial Arts Federation. I have been also trained in Shaolin temple. In 2006, I was the bodybuilding coach of the national team of Wushu Association of Iran. At that year, I was invited to act in a Chinese martial movie. In 2007, I managed to become the official reporter of International Kung Fu and Wushu Magazine in West Asia. I am also the President of World Seer Man Pai Kung Fu Academy Confederation. Recently I was appointed as the head coach of Shaolin National Team of Iran in the Italian Championship in 2008, where we managed to win first place in the world with 8 gold, 5 silver, and 3 bronze medals. I have been the General Secretary of FIMA University since the foundation of it. Then I was offered the position of the president of Self-Defense and Personal Arts of Iran. I am 29 years old, and I love spaghetti very much too.

    I hope God will guide us in the right way, and I wish you, my dear friend, who have high goals, success and health.

    Waiting for your reply,

    With thanks,

    Amir

    Reply
  • 4. Gilberto Pauciullo  |  September 24, 2008 at 6:38 am

    Sorry , but i am the World Man Seer Kung Pai Kung Fu Academy Confederation President .Mr. Amir is the IRAN W.M.S.K.P.K.A.C. President.Regards, the WMSKPKAC President, Prof.Gilberto Pauciullo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Tweets

Lawns to Gardens / Bright Neighbor events

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

