The State of Advertising as The Dollar and the Global Economy Crashes

August 14, 2007 at 4:14 pm 1 comment

Peak Oil Advertising And Marketing Advice and Expertise

If your job requires an opening line that goes something like this, you are in trouble:

“Hi, may I speak with whoever handles your marketing or advertising?”

I’ve written on this subject before, but since the economy is melting before our eyes, I wanted to take the time to repost what I wrote about advertising during times of Peak Oil. I can tell you as of August 14th, 2007 – the heads are about to start rolling in media (Hey all you AD AGE editors… I’m open for interviews!)

But here’s the gist: It’s all about ROI, measured results for clients, and what people are buying. Specialty dog sweater shops are going bye-bye, as are a lot of businesses that didn’t have the foresight to adapt in time. It’s not that your advertising isn’t working… it’s just that the whole system isn’t working, and if you aren’t bringing in big money for the corporation, you too will soon find out what the term ‘unemployed’ means.

All of you new hires at TV, radio, newspapers and even Internet companies had better be bringing along a network of business associates that you can count on, because cold calling won’t work anymore.

I’ve tried to get my company to take evasive action, but they didn’t listen, along with the many other marketing managers who looked at me crazy when I told them what to do. For the record:

– I told car dealers to stop ordering so many cars, and to open up small-scale alcohol fuel distilleries while they still had money. They looked at me like I was crazy.

Dollar, gas, and oil crash

– I told home builders to not build houses on all the land they purchased, rather leave some of the land to build a small-scale fuel facility for their residents, who could cooperatively own it and work with local farmers for the feedstocks. They should also leave some land for hydroponic food generation stations and small community garden parcels. They said “Good idea, we’ll wait to see if other home builders start doing it”.

– I told book sellers to stock up on gardening books

– I told restaurants to start composting systems

I told a lot of businesses to do a lot of things to prepare.

So I guess I’m telling you again, while you still have money in the bank – SPEND IT NOW, AND SPEND IT ON THE RIGHT STUFF!!!

And don’t forget, the right stuff includes me… your friendly Peak Oil Advertising and Marketing Expert! I can help you make the right business decisions while you still have time.

And as always… start growing food at home 🙂

Entry filed under: Advertising, Consumerism, Economic Collapse, Energy Crash, Ethanol, Gardening, How To, Peak Oil, Personal Preparation, Profits, Solutions.

This Works Better Than Tea To Calm One’s Nerves Can 6.5 Billion Humans Find Happiness?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dave B  |  December 4, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Natural Gas, I love it…

    We all have join the fight and get some changes made…

    Grains, can prove to be the answer.

    Dave

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Tweets

Lawns to Gardens / Bright Neighbor events

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

