Eco-Etiquette And The New Rules Of Living On Earth

December 2, 2007 at 6:00 pm 1 comment

Eco Etiquette

The other night I found myself at a friend’s house and I had a dilemma.

Should I flush my pee, or would the owner of the house mind if I let it mellow? I asked him if it was okay, and he told me he wasn’t cool with it. So I made the yellow go bye-bye.

It made me realize that we are living in a time of behavioral transition. After all, many people are making changes in the way they live and consume. I know people who own composting toilets. But what happens when your lifestyle values are not present in a systemic form at other places you go?

Sure, I turn off the water when I brush my teeth and I re-use my ziplock bags until they fall apart. But what about when one ventures from one’s own nest? Here are some examples of asking questions of others:

If I need to throw something away at a friend’s house:
– Do you compost?
– Where is your recycling?
– Can I let it mellow?

At Restaurants:
– Do you compost? (The answer is always no. That’s a problem)
– Where is your recycling?
– Where is your restroom? (This is less personal, so I don’t flush when I urinate, but I do wash my hands.)

You get the idea. As more and more people understand that they must be part of the changes we need to make to save the planet, there are bound to be awkward moments. But by having the courage to live with your eco-convictions, you can help others learn to behave.

I just wish our country’s leaders had a personal coach.

Entry filed under: Activism, Consumerism, Dinner Parties, environmental, future, How To, Random, Solutions. Tags: , , .

Tragedy Makes For Comedy How To Have A Green Christmas

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stacie  |  January 2, 2010 at 7:31 am

    I wash & reuse my ziplock bags too =) and recycle all my plastic. I just thought I would mention that when you don’t flush in a public restroom the person who enters the stall next is going to do one of two things: step out and go to another stall if possible or just flush the toilet and then use it, flushing afterward.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Tweets

Lawns to Gardens / Bright Neighbor events

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

