Lawns to Gardens (The Energy Crisis Show): EPISODE 2

April 25, 2007 at 9:29 am 3 comments

Here is Episode 2!

Entry filed under: Activism, Carpooling, Community Building, Economic Collapse, Energy Crash, future, Gardening, Peak Oil, Personal Preparation, Videos.

A Rebuttal To The Recent Stanford Study On Ethanol The Book That Oil Companies Don’t Want You To Know About

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zadi  |  April 25, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Hey Randy,

    Great second episode. When I get a house I am definitely going to do this…

    Do you have any advice on how we can start small if we live in an apartment building but want to begin the process now? I have a landlord to deal with…

    Reply
  • 2. Kickaha  |  April 30, 2007 at 1:58 am

    Hey, that was kind of fun, and the brief shot of hooters has a nice resetting of attention–like that hit to the sinuses from the horseradish sauce on your egg roll.

    Some ideas:

    1. Put links in text below your movie to make them easier to access.

    2. Stick with not trying to present detailed how-to advice–inspiration is your goal.

    3. On the other hand, some specific bon mots every now and then would be nice. For example, when I started a vegetable garden, the best place in my yard was next to my 50-year-old garage. However, I could find no information anywhere about the possibility of lead contamination in plants grown in soil with ancient paint flecks. I finally found a soil scientist, who said not to worry–lead in paint is so tightly bound that you have to actually eat the paint for it to cause a problem. Still, I removed the top six inches of dirt because I wasn’t sure what chemicals previous owners may have dumped around there.

    4. Don’t be afraid to show your failures. I’ve been at this for five years, and I still have plenty myself. When you’re first starting, it can be very discouraging to spend weeks starting tomato plants, and then have half of them wiped out in one night by cut worms. Let people see that and then how you deal with it.

    Reply
  • 3. peakoilboy  |  April 30, 2007 at 8:23 am

    You know, the lead paint thing was a concern as well, I’m glad to know that there won’t be any Flipper Babies caused by eating from the garden.

    And I have a LOT of work to do on the show… and yes, failures will be included 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Lawns to Gardens / Bright Neighbor events

April 2007
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30